• unknown (b.)


He received a B.S. in Physics from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the Ph.D. in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. His early research at Stevens Institute of Technology was on the physics of fluids and plasmas. While a member of the Department of Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (ARPA), he was responsible for research in support of nuclear test ban negotiations and subsequently served from 1967-1974 as Deputy Director and Director of the Agency. Later government service was as Chief Scientist of the Federal Communications Commission, 1979-1982, where he was responsible for advising the Commission on technical issues in communication regulation and for the management of non-government use of the electromagnetic spectrum. He is a member of the International Institute for Strategic Studies, the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He was awarded the Department of Defense Distinguished Service Medal in 1973 and 1974, and a D. Eng. (Hon.) from Stevens Institute of Technology. He is a founder of The Information Society: An International Journal, and has served on the Boards of Trustees of Harvey Mudd College and Stevens Institute of Technology. He currently holds an appointment as Distinguished Senior Research Fellow at the Center for International Strategy, Technology, and Policy, at Georgia Institute of Technology.
  • Noted For:

    Advised the FCC on technical issues and the management of non-government use of the electromagnetic spectrum
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: