• unknown (b.)


A computer scientist, she holds Bachelors and Masters Degrees from the University of Southern California. She has been active in the development of the protocols underlying the Internet. In particular, she has authored or co-authored many RFCs; most notably those introducing and specifying the Telnet protocol. She served as part of the editorial team of the Request For Comments series from 1987 to 2006, and also performed the IANA function with Jon Postel until this was transferred to ICANN, and worked with ICANN in this role until 2001, while remaining an employee of ISI. As Area Director of the User Services area, she was a member of the Internet Engineering Steering Group of the IETF from 1990 to March 1998 and is a recipient of the Internet Society (ISOC) service recognition plaque for "outstanding contributions to the IETF". Together with Bob Braden, she received the 2006 Postel Award in recognition of her services to the Internet. She is mentioned, along with a brief biography, in RFC 1336, Who's Who in the Internet (1992). She has been an international keynote speaker and panelist of over 90 different conferences in Europe, Asia-Pacific, Scandinavia, and the Middle East. She has authored or co-authored over 95 RFCs and additional international publications. She is a past Associate Editor of the Internet Society News; a member of the American Society of Professional and Executive Women; and is affiliated with Phi Alpha Theta (Honors Society). She is currently listed in Who's Who in the American Society of Professional and Executive Women and USC's Who's Who in the College of Letters, Arts, and Sciences Alumni Directory.
  • Gender:

  • Noted For:

    Co-developer of protocols underlying the Internet, most notably those introducing and specifying the Telnet protocol
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: