• 1938 October 18
    (b.) - ?


Former Director of the Institute for Advanced Study (1991-2003), he is an American mathematician, known for his work in the field of geometry; and in particular, for the complex manifold approach to algebraic geometry. He was a major developer in particular of the theory of variation of Hodge structure in Hodge theory and moduli theory. Born in Raleigh, North Carolina), he received his B.S. from Wake Forest College in 1959 and his Ph.D. from Princeton University in 1962 working under Donald Spencer. Since then, he has held positions at Berkeley (1962-1967), Princeton (1967-1972), Harvard University (1972-1983), Duke University (1983-1991), and the Institute for Advanced Study (1991 to the present), where he was Director until 2003. He has published on algebraic geometry, differential geometry, geometric function theory, and the geometry of partial differential equations. In 2008 he was awarded the Wolf Prize (jointly with Deligne and Mumford). He is co-author, with Joe Harris, of "Principles of Algebraic Geometry", a well-regarded textbook on complex algebraic geometry. He serves as the Chair of the Science Initiative Group where he provides scientific guidance, oversight and coordination for the Millennium Science Initiative (MSI), a program whose objective is to build capacity in modern science and engineering in developing countries as a vehicle for economic and social progress. He serves as a special advisor to the Mellon Foundation, and he is a Distinguished Presidential Fellow for International Affairs at The National Academies. In Turing's Cathedral by George Dyson it is noted that he allowed the author, as Director's Visitor at the Institute for Advanced Study, to access historical files of the Electronic Computer Project.
  • Date of Birth:

    1938 October 18
  • Gender:

  • Noted For:

    Former Director of the Institute for Advanced Study
  • Category of Achievement:

  • More Info: