• unknown (b.)


The chair of the Computer Science department and the Daniel St. Clair Endowed Chair Professor at the Missouri University of Science and Technology (S&T) in Rolla, Missouri since September 2013; he served the U.S. National Science Foundation as a Program Director in the division of Computer Networks and Systems from 2008 to 2011. His research interests include wireless and sensor networks, mobile and pervasive computing, smart environments and smart health care, pervasive security, biological networking, applied graph theory and game theory. His research on wireless sensor networks and pervasive and mobile computing is widely recognized as pioneering. From July 1988 to July 1999, he was a Professor at the University of North Texas and from August 1999 to August 2013 he was a Distinguished Scholar Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, and the Founding Director of the Center for Research in Wireless Mobility and Networking at the University of North Texas at Arlington. He has graduated 28 Ph.D., 26 M.S., and 5 B.S. honors students. He received his B.S. degree in Computer Science, in 1983 from Calcutta University; his M.S. degree in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore in 1984; and his Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from the University of Central Florida in 1988. He is on the editorial staff of several publications including: the Founding Editor-in-Chief of ?Pervasive and Mobile Computing? journal (Elsevier, since 2004; Associate Editor of ACM ?Transactions on Sensor Networks?, since 2014; and IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing from 2003 to 2011, and from 2014 to the present; ACM/Springer Wireless Networks Journal; Journal of Parallel and Distributed Computing; Computer Communications; Journal on Peer-to-Peer Networking and Applications; and Journal on Self Computing. He has published over 650 papers, gathering 19,000+ citations according to Google Scholar, and 50 invited book chapters. One of the most prolific authors in the world of computer science according to DBLP, his current h-index is 67. In addition, he has authored or co-authored the following books: with S. Roy, Principles of Cyber-Physical Systems: An Interdisciplinary Approach, Cambridge University Press, 2014; with D. J. Cook, Smart Environments: Technology, Protocols and Applications, John Wiley, 2005; with K. Kant and N. Zhang, Handbook on Securing Cyber-Physical Critical Infrastructure: Foundations and Challenges, Morgan-Kauffman, Feb 2012; and with J. Cao, Mobile Agents in Networking and Distributed Computing (Wiley Series in Agent Technology), John Wiley, July 2012. He is the holder of several U.S. Patents including: Patent # 6,330,451; Title: Selectively Delaying Data Communications in a Wireless Communication System to Provide Voice Communications Capacity; Issued on 12/11/2001; Patent # 6,992,994; Title: Methods and Systems for a Generalized Mobility Solution Using a Dynamic Tunneling Agent; Issued on 1/31/2006; Patent # 6,992,995; Title: Telecommunication Enhanced Mobile IP Architecture for Intra-Domain Mobility; Issued on 1/31/2006; Patent # 7,873,727; Title: System and Method for Evaluating Streaming Multimedia Quality; Issued on 1/18/2011; and Patent # 7,904,086; Title: Method and Computer Program for Handoff of Mobile Devices between Wireless Systems; Issued on 03/08/2011. He is an IEEE Fellow (2015), for "contributions to parallel and distributed computing". The recipient of numerous awards, just a few of which are: E.T.S. Shelton Professor Award, Science Foundation of Ireland; IEEE Computer Society 2009 Technical Achievement Award, "For pioneering contributions to Sensor Networks"; Academy of Distinguished Scholars Award, UT Arlington; University Award for Distinguished Record of Research, UT Arlington; College of Engineering Outstanding Research Award, UT Arlington; Outstanding Faculty Research Award, Dept of Computer Science and Engineering, UT Arlington; Centennial Scholars Award for outstanding research, UNT; and ?Fessor Graham Award Nominee and Decker Scholar Award Nominee, UNT. He also received the Graduate Dean?s Award for Excellence in Doctoral Students Mentoring, UT Arlington; the 2008 IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Engineering Educator Award; the Lockheed Martin Teaching Excellence Award, UT Arlington and the Student Association Honor Professor Award for outstanding teaching, scholarly research, and involvement with student activities, UNT. He has also received several Service Awards including: IEEE Engineer of the Year Award, Ft. Worth Section; the Distinguished Alumni Award Nominee for outstanding professional achievements, UCF, Orlando; Recognition of ACM Service Awards, for contributions as a founder and organizer of the ACM International Workshop on Wireless Mobile Multimedia (WoWMoM); the IEEE Computer Society?s Appreciation Awards, in recognition of contributions and leadership as General Chair of IEEE MASCOTS (2002, 1998); the Vice General Chair of IEEE HiPC; and a Service Recognition Award, UNT. In addition he has receive numerous Best Paper awards, the latest of which are: the 9th IEEE International Conference on Mobile Ad-hoc and Sensor Networks (MSN?13), Dalian, China, Dec 2013 (with R. Yu and X. Wang); the 3rd IEEE International Conference on Smart Grid Communications (IEEE SmartGridComm?12), Tainan City, Taiwan, Oct 2012 (with G. Ghidini); and the 6th International Conference on Heterogeneous Networking for Quality, Reliability, Security and Robustness (QShine?09), Spain, Nov 2009 (with N. Roy and C. Julien). He is the Conference Founder or Co-Founder of: the IEEE Workshop on Data Security and Privacy in Wireless Networks (DSPAN), 2009; IEEE Int?l Workshop on Information Quality in Sensor Networks (IQ2S), 2009; IEEE International Conference on Pervasive Computing and Communications (PerCom), 2003; International Conference on Distributed Computing and Networking (ICDCN), 2002; IEEE Int?l Workshop on Mobile Distributed Computing (MDC), 2003; and IEEE International Symposium on a World of Wireless Mobile Multimedia Networks (WoWMoM), 1998.